New RADF Committee to go to Vote

Townsville City Council’s Community and Cultural Development Committee has recommended 14 local community members be appointed to Townsville City Councils new Regional Arts Development Fund committee (RADF).

RADF Committee Chair Cr Margie Ryder said the proposed committee members were chosen for their dedication to arts and culture in Townsville and experience with a variety of art forms.

“The RADF Committee members are selected based on a number of criteria, but mostly we look for their involvement and their understanding of the needs of the community,” Cr Ryder said.

“The new members will provide valuable advice to Council on community priorities and will help decide how the grant funding is allocated.”

The proposed new RADF Committee members are:

  • Rob Douma
    Drawing, printmaking, sculpture, painting
  • Arminelle Fleming
    Theatre, performance, playwriting
  • Fiona Lake
    Photography, writing
  • Hilary Martin
    Youth arts
  • Sarah Mathiesen
    Writing, theatre
  • Jennifer Mulcahy
    Sculpture, printmaking
  • Jane Pirani
  • Jocelyn McKinnon
    Arts and cultural education
  • Michael Pope
  • Margaret Robertson
    Printmaking, Arts
  • Michael Sams
    Playwriting, actor
  • Dave Stafford
    Gallery owner
  • Sonia Ward
    Visual arts

The RADF Committee recommendations will go to a vote at the next Full Council meeting on 23 October 2018.

RADF is a unique partnership between the Queensland Government and Townsville City Council to support local talent, unite communities and celebrate the arts across the state. The Queensland Government, through Arts Queensland, is contributing $2.08 million in 2018-19 in partnership with 58 councils statewide to help deliver cultural experiences which align with local priorities.


Written By
More from huxleyadmin

The future is bright

Let me preface this by saying: “I am not a dancer, nor...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *